previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Welcome to Whissonsett Web

Whissonsett or Witcingkeseta as it was known in the Domesday Book means either the settlement of the Witcing tribe or a place of watery meadows. The village is in a valley on a tributary of the River Wensum with many wells and springs so ‘watery meadows’ describes it very well. Set in the heart of rural Norfolk, it is situated between the Market Towns of Fakenham and Dereham. Whissonsett is surrounded by farm land and orchards; the Village itself encircles a beautiful 14th century Church.

It is an idyllic scene, but behind this seemingly timeless picture is the hard work carried out by generation after generation of ordinary Norfolk people to preserve and beautify the church and village they love. With a history dating from the Dark Ages and The Iceni Tribe (Eceni) to Modern times there is a lot more to the Village than first meets the eye, so whether you`re a villager or visitor we hope you find something useful, interesting and informative.

Latest News

The Whickers

The Whickers (Local Country/Folk Band) Saturday 9th Feb 2019, 19:30 - 22:30

St Mary’s Church

Surrounded by orchards, the village itself encircles another expanse of fields in which the mainly 14th-century church nestles, framed by trees, it is an idyllic scene.

Revd Robin Stapleford covers the Upper Wensum Benifice which includes the churches of Whissonsett, Brisley, Colkirk/Oxwick, Great Ryburgh, Horningtoft, Gateley, Dunton and Shereford, he has a new church website (St Mary’s and surrounding benefice) namely www.upperwensum.co.uk .

Whissonsett Village Heroes

Derick/Derek, born in 1903, became an Air Liaison Officer in East Africa at the outbreak of war and later took command of the 7th Battalion the Green Howards during the Greek and Western Desert campaigns.

On the night of March 20 1943, Lt Col Seagrim was first man into an enemy machine-gun position and personally accounted for 20 of the troops.

Saint Mary's Parish Church

Saint Mary’s parish church was built mainly during the Early English period (cica 1250) and is constructed from flint with freestone dressing. The church has undergone considerable restoration over the past centuries.

One of the features of Saint Mary’s are the large image niches, one in the nave and two in the chancel either side of the east window. The one in the nave contains the large head of a Saxon cross, unearthed in the graveyard by grave diggers in 1902. It is at least a thousand years old.

Slider

© Whissonsett Web 2018 
Designed and Hosted by Amia Design

bars4